Home

There is a new animal disease which causes livestock to have birth detect and miscarriages.  This disease has now been found on 74 farms in England.

The disease is called the Schmallenberg virus.  It originated from Germany and the Netherlands last year.  This disease has been diagnosed five times in cattle and 69 times in sheep.  It is thought that the disease has been spread by midges, mosquitoes and ticks.

No one knows yet how this will affect agriculture.  Let’s hope that this doesn’t become another epidemic like foot and mouth disease.  In the next two weeks lambing season will reach its peak, farmers will then be able to see the extent of the disease during this period.

Unlike foot and mouth disease which caused viruses in humans, The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control says it is

“unlikely Schmallenberg virus would cause disease in humans.”

6 thoughts on “New disease causes birth defects in animals

  1. My brother advocated I would possibly such as this blog. He was thoroughly appropriate. This publish truly designed my day. You’ll be able to not picture just just how much time I had spent for this info! Many thanks!

  2. Can I just say what a relief to locate somebody that truly has knowledge what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it worthwhile. Lots more people must read this and fully grasp this aspect of the story. I cant believe you’re not more well-known since you definitely have the gift.

  3. Was originally investigating this explicit products by making use of google when I stumbled with your web-site. A superb sum excellent content material on the following. Unquestionably an individual for my favs. Lance

  4. I understand this if off topic but I’m seeking into starting off my own blogging site and was thinking what all is needed to get put together? I am assuming having a blog page like yours would cost a fairly penny? I’m not quite word wide web savvy so I am not 100% good. Any strategies or tips might possibly be vastly appreciated. Cheers

Leave a Reply

